Skip to content

Planted Indoors

Best Vertical Hydroponic Towers 2026: 10 Picks Compared by Maker Specs

The best vertical hydroponic tower for a small indoor space is the Gardyn Studio 2, a 16-plant column that Gardyn lists at 1.4 square feet of floor space with its own 52W LED light built in. If you want live seedlings delivered instead of seed pods, the Lettuce Grow Farmstand Nook grows 20 plants indoors under built-in LEDs, and if you want an aeroponic tower that can move between a patio and a sunroom, the Tower Garden HOME holds up to 32 plants, per Tower Garden. We compared 10 freestanding towers and wall-style vertical gardens sold in the US. Specifications come from each maker’s product page, or from the linked Amazon listing where we say so; the price bands and comparisons are ours. We do not use or test the products we cover.

This guide covers floor-standing towers, columns and wall-style vertical gardens for food, herbs and houseplants. Countertop gardens are a different kind of product, so they are not here. If you are new to growing without soil, see How Hydroponics Works: A Simple Explanation for Home Growers and Indoor Growing Gear: What You Actually Need in 2026.

At a Glance: Best Vertical Hydroponic Towers 2026

# Tower Award Plant sites and light (per the maker) Band
1 Gardyn Studio 2 Best for Small Indoor Spaces 16 plants; one 52W LED included $300–700
2 Lettuce Grow Farmstand Nook Best Indoor Tower With Live Seedlings 20 ports; integrated LEDs $700+
3 Tower Garden HOME Best Aeroponic Tower for Indoors or Out Up to 32 plants (16 full-size, 16 baby greens); lights sold separately $700+
4 Gardyn Home 4 Best Step Up From the Studio 2 30 plants; two 40W LEDs included $700+
5 Lettuce Grow Original Farmstand (Large, Outdoor) Best for a Sunny Patio 36 ports; no lights in the outdoor version $700+
6 IGWorks iHarvest Complete Package Best Plant Wall With No Monthly Fees 30 or more plants; two grow lights included $700+
7 Just Vertical EVE Best Furniture-Style Wall Garden 12 plants; built-in LEDs $300–700
8 Hydra Tower Best for Planting Seeds Directly 16 or 32 plant sites; no lights $300–700 (16-plant)
9 Mr. Stacky Smart Farm Best for Soil or Hydroponic Growing 20 plant sites; no lights $150–300
10 VEVOR 30-Pod 6-Tier Hydroponic Tower Best in This Guide’s Lowest Band 30 pods; LED grow light included $75–150

How We Chose These Vertical Hydroponic Towers

We started from the towers, columns and vertical gardens sold to US home growers. We kept towers whose maker publishes the plant-site count and whether lights are included, and whose exact model we could find for sale in October 2026; we say where a size is not published. For each one we noted the plant sites, height and footprint, water tank size, how the water reaches the roots, and the lights included. Where a maker does not publish a figure, we say so rather than fill it in. We left out any system whose maker markets it mainly for growing cannabis, because this guide is about food, herbs and houseplants.

A few towers are not on this list. Rise Garden 3 and Tower Garden FLEX already appear in our guide to indoor gardening systems, so this page covers other models. We left out towers for which we found no current manufacturer specification page. Bands reflect observed selling prices at our last review. Offers change; check the listing.

Our 10 Picks: Vertical Hydroponic Towers and Gardens for Home Growing

Transparency first: This guide contains affiliate links. If we’re enrolled in an affiliate program, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you — it never affects how we research or rank. Read our full affiliate disclosure policy.

Gardyn Studio 2 — Best for Small Indoor Spaces

16 plants · 17 × 12 × 54 in, 1.4 sq ft · One 52W LED · 4+ gallon tank (per Gardyn) · Price band: $300–700

Gardyn describes the Studio 2 as a compact smart indoor hydroponic garden that grows 16 plants in 1.4 square feet, and lists it at 17 inches wide, 12 inches deep and 54 inches tall. A single 52W full-spectrum LED is built in and watering is automated; Gardyn says to add plant food and refill the 4+ gallon tank every one to two weeks. Plants come as Gardyn’s seeded yCubes, and Gardyn also sells seedless yCubes for your own seeds. Gardyn’s membership adds plant credits and app features, and Gardyn states that it is not required. Gardyn estimates energy use at 26 kWh a month and lists a grounded outlet power supply.

Pros: A small footprint for a tower with its own light; automated watering and lighting; membership optional. Cons: 16 plants; Gardyn’s product page gives indoor operating conditions only.

Lettuce Grow Farmstand Nook — Best Indoor Tower With Live Seedlings

20 ports on 4 levels · 15.84 in diameter × 55 in · 9-gallon tank · Integrated LEDs (per Lettuce Grow) · Price band: $700+ · Sold direct; unavailable on Amazon in our October 2026 search

Lettuce Grow calls the Nook a compact, 20-plant indoor edition of its self-watering Farmstand. It has four levels of five plants, stands 55 inches tall on a 15.84-inch-diameter base and holds 9 gallons of water, per Lettuce Grow. LED lights are built in, and the box includes a water pump, a digital smart timer, plant nutrients and a pH test kit. Instead of seed pods, the Nook comes with live starter seedlings (per Lettuce Grow). Lettuce Grow says weekly care takes about 15 minutes, with a water reset and cleaning every three months, and lists a GFCI power outlet as a requirement.

Pros: Live seedlings instead of seeds; lights, pump and timer included; a small round footprint. Cons: Lettuce Grow does not state the LED wattage on its product page; the Amazon listing was unavailable when we looked, so the link goes to Lettuce Grow.

Tower Garden HOME — Best Aeroponic Tower for Indoors or Out

Up to 32 plants (16 full-size + 16 baby greens) · 58 in tall, 24 × 24 in base · 13-gallon reservoir · Aeroponic · Lights not included (per Tower Garden) · Price band: $700+

Tower Garden describes the HOME as a vertical aeroponic system that grows up to 32 plants in about 3 sq ft (24 × 24 in, per Tower Garden’s FAQ) and holds 13 gallons of water. It stands 58 inches tall, and its sites split into 16 for full-size plants and 16 for baby greens and herbs. Tower Garden rates the included pump at 23 watts and 357 US gallons per hour, and says the HOME can be used indoors or outdoors, including on patios and balconies. Lights are not in the box: Tower Garden says they will be needed indoors, especially through the winter, and sells a 125-watt LED kit. You start your own seeds with the seedling starter kit (per Tower Garden), and Tower Garden’s Mineral Blend plant food and a pH kit are included. The Amazon listing we link is sold by Tower Garden and adds a support cage.

Pros: Up to 32 plants; indoor or outdoor use; ordinary seeds rather than pods. Cons: Grow lights are an extra purchase for indoor growing; it needs a 24 × 24 inch base.

Gardyn Home 4 — Best Step Up From the Studio 2

30 plants · 24 × 12 × 64 in, 2 sq ft · Two 40W LEDs · Two built-in cameras (per Gardyn) · Price band: $700+

If 16 plants will not be enough, the Home 4 is Gardyn’s larger column. Gardyn lists it at 30 plants in 2 square feet: 24 inches wide, 12 inches deep and 64 inches tall, which, by our subtraction of Gardyn’s listed dimensions, is 7 inches wider and 10 inches taller than the Studio 2. It uses two 40W LEDs and two inward-facing cameras, and Gardyn estimates energy use at 47 kWh a month. As on the Studio, watering is automated, plants come as yCubes with a seedless option for your own seeds, and Gardyn states that membership is not required. Gardyn lists a grounded outlet power supply and a Wi-Fi connection (per Gardyn).

Pros: 30 plants on 2 square feet of floor; the same yCubes as the Studio 2; lights and cameras built in. Cons: 64 inches tall, so check your headroom; a higher band than the Studio 2.

Lettuce Grow Original Farmstand (Large, Outdoor) — Best for a Sunny Patio

36 ports, 6 per level · 22 in diameter, 6 ft 1 in tall (outdoor) · 20-gallon tank · No lights in the outdoor version (per Lettuce Grow) · Price band: $700+

The Large outdoor version of Lettuce Grow’s Original Farmstand is the one to look at for a sunny patio, deck or yard. Lettuce Grow lists 36 ports, six plants per level, on a 22-inch-diameter base, an assembled height of 6 feet 1 inch and a 20-gallon water tank, and says it performs best with six or more hours of full sun. It comes with a water pump, a smart timer, plant nutrients, a pH test kit and live starter seedlings. The outdoor version has no lights; Lettuce Grow sells Glow Rings separately to bring it indoors, which raises the stated height to 6 feet 7 inches. Lettuce Grow describes the Large size as suited to households of four or more, and lists a GFCI power outlet as a requirement.

Pros: 36 ports; a 20-gallon tank; live seedlings included. Cons: No lights in the box (Glow Rings are sold separately for indoor use); over 6 feet tall.

IGWorks iHarvest Complete Package — Best Plant Wall With No Monthly Fees

30 or more plants · 2.5 sq ft of floor space · Two grow lights with stands, trellis and pump included · 85W (per IGWorks) · Price band: $700+ · Sold direct; not listed on Amazon in our October 2026 search

The iHarvest is a vertical plant wall rather than a round tower. IGWorks says the Complete Package includes everything needed to grow 30 or more plants: the iHarvest system, two grow lights with stands, a trellis, a pump with timers, starter seeds, nutrients and pH testers. IGWorks says it needs 2.5 square feet of floor space and uses 85W of power, and that you can drop any seed into the growing media. IGWorks also says there are no monthly fees. Its product page does not state the water tank size or the assembled height.

Pros: Any seeds you like; no membership; lights and trellis included. Cons: Tank size and height are not on the product page.

Just Vertical EVE — Best Furniture-Style Wall Garden

12 plants · Wall-style unit; dimensions differ between Just Vertical’s pages, so check the product page · Built-in LEDs · Arrives assembled (per Just Vertical) · Price band: $300–700 · Sold direct; unavailable on Amazon in our October 2026 search

Just Vertical builds the EVE into a piece of furniture to stand against a wall. Just Vertical says it grows 12 plants and arrives fully assembled with built-in LED grow lights. The EVE waters the plants automatically, 48 times a day according to Just Vertical, and you add water about once every two weeks. Just Vertical suggests it for herbs and leafy greens and gives it a two-year warranty.

Pros: A shallow shape that sits close to a wall; arrives assembled; lights built in. Cons: 12 plants; Just Vertical’s product listing we read does not state the tank size or height; the Amazon listing was unavailable when we looked.

Hydra Tower — Best for Planting Seeds Directly

16 or 32 plant sites · 8-gallon bucket · Venturi aeration · No lights (per Hydra Unlimited) · Price band: $300–700 (16-plant) · Sold direct; not listed on Amazon in our October 2026 search

Hydra Unlimited’s Hydra Tower stacks pod modules on an 8-gallon bucket with legs and a drain, in a 16-plant or a 32-plant setup. You plant seeds directly in the tower’s pods and grow them there through to harvest, with no separate seed-starting tray, and Hydra Unlimited uses what it calls Venturi aeration to add oxygen to the water. The box includes the water pump and hose; no lights are included. Hydra Unlimited says the tower can be used indoors or outdoors. Its product page does not state the assembled height.

Pros: Seeds go straight into the tower; indoor or outdoor use; two sizes. Cons: No lights; the same 8-gallon bucket serves both sizes; height not stated.

Mr. Stacky Smart Farm — Best for Soil or Hydroponic Growing

20 plant sites in 5 pots · 16-gallon reservoir · Pump and timer, no lights (per Mr. Stacky) · Price band: $150–300

Mr. Stacky’s Smart Farm stacks five large pots with 20 plant sites around a center pipe on a 16-gallon reservoir, and Mr. Stacky lists it at 19 × 19 × 52 inches; the Amazon listing for the linked Standard Kit gives 18.5 × 18.5 × 49 inches. A pump on a timer waters the plants and the water returns to the tank, which Mr. Stacky says lasts two to three weeks. Mr. Stacky recommends a coco peat and perlite mix, which is not included, and says soil works too. The pots rotate around the center pipe, so you can turn plants toward the sun. No lights are included.

Pros: Soil or hydroponic media; rotating pots; a 16-gallon reservoir. Cons: No lights, so it needs sun or separate grow lights; growing medium is sold separately.

VEVOR 30-Pod 6-Tier Hydroponic Tower — Best in This Guide’s Lowest Band

30 pods on 6 tiers · 14 × 14 × 34 in without the light stand · 20-liter tank · LED grow light included · Model VV2-6C-US (per VEVOR) · Price band: $75–150

VEVOR’s 30-pod tower sits in the lowest band in this guide. VEVOR lists 30 pods on six tiers, a 20-liter water tank that it says needs refilling about once a month, and a full-spectrum LED grow light. VEVOR gives the tower as 14 × 14 × 34 inches without the light stand, and the light stand as 17 × 17 × 37 inches. A pump circulates the water, and VEVOR says its app lets you switch the power and set the pump run time. VEVOR also sells this tower without the light and in 20-, 45- and 50-pod sizes; the link goes to the 30-pod version with the light, model VV2-6C-US. Our October 2026 search of the CPSC recall database returned eight VEVOR recalls, all for other products such as baby gates and garment steamers, and none for a hydroponic tower.

Pros: The lowest band in this guide; light included; app control of the pump. Cons: VEVOR’s product page does not state the grow light’s wattage; the tank holds 20 L (per VEVOR; about 5.3 gallons by our conversion) for 30 pods.

Recalls and Electrical Notes

Our October 2026 search of the US CPSC recall database found no recall for any vertical hydroponic tower recommended above.

Each of these towers runs a pump beside a water tank, and most add lights. Lettuce Grow lists a GFCI power outlet as a requirement for both Farmstands, Gardyn lists a grounded outlet power supply for both of its gardens, and Tower Garden rates its standard pump at 120 VAC. For the other towers, follow the electrical setup in the maker’s own instructions.

How to Choose a Vertical Hydroponic Tower

Floor space and height

Going by the makers’ figures, the Gardyn Studio 2 needs 1.4 square feet, and the Farmstand Nook stands on a 15.84-inch round base. Of the towers whose makers state a height, the outdoor Original Farmstand (6 feet 1 inch) and the Gardyn Home 4 (64 inches) are the tallest, so measure your ceiling and leave room above the plants.

Lights

Lights decide how well a tower works indoors: Tower Garden, for example, says lights will be needed for indoor growing, especially through the winter. The Gardyn Studio 2, Gardyn Home 4, Farmstand Nook, iHarvest, EVE and VEVOR tower come with lights. The Tower Garden HOME, outdoor Original Farmstand, Hydra Tower and Mr. Stacky Smart Farm do not; Tower Garden and Lettuce Grow sell lights for their towers. For separate lights, see Best Grow Light Plant Stands 2026: 7 Picks Compared by Maker Specs and Best Grow Light Bulbs of 2026: 10 Verified Picks for Indoor Plants.

Seeds, seedlings and ongoing supplies

Gardyn’s towers take its yCubes, with seedless yCubes for your own seeds and an optional membership. Lettuce Grow starts you with live seedlings and sells more. Tower Garden, iHarvest, Hydra Tower and Mr. Stacky work with ordinary seeds or seedlings. Hydroponic growing also needs plant nutrients; see Best Hydroponic Nutrients for Home Gardens (2026): 10 Picks Compared by Their Labels.

Tank size

A bigger tank can mean longer between refills, other things being equal. The makers list 20 gallons for the Original Farmstand, 16 gallons for the Mr. Stacky Smart Farm, 13 gallons for the Tower Garden HOME, 9 gallons for the Farmstand Nook, 8 gallons for the Hydra Tower, 20 liters for the VEVOR tower and 4+ gallons for the Gardyn towers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a vertical hydroponic tower?

It is a freestanding column or wall that holds plants in stacked sites and pumps water and nutrients from a tank at the base to the roots, so many plants share a small patch of floor.

Can a vertical hydroponic tower be used indoors?

Yes, with enough light. Six of the ten towers here come with grow lights. The Tower Garden HOME, the outdoor Original Farmstand, the Hydra Tower and the Mr. Stacky Smart Farm do not. Tower Garden says HOME needs grow lights indoors; for the other towers sold without lights, plan for enough light where they will stand.

What is the difference between an aeroponic and a hydroponic tower?

Tower Garden describes the HOME as aeroponic. The other makers here describe their towers as hydroponic or self-watering systems that pump water from the tank to the plants. Mr. Stacky also allows soil in its pots.

Do vertical hydroponic towers need a subscription?

Not the ones whose makers address it. Gardyn offers an optional membership and states it is not required, and IGWorks says the iHarvest has no monthly fees. Tower Garden, Hydra Tower and Mr. Stacky work with your own seeds or seedlings, and Lettuce Grow sells further live seedlings.

More from Planted Indoors

This guide was researched and written by Michael Probert. Specifications come from each maker’s product page, or from the linked Amazon listing where we say so.