Skip to content

Planted Indoors

Best Grow Light Bulbs of 2026: 10 Verified Picks for Indoor Plants

The best grow light bulb for most people is the Soltech Vita PAR30. It screws into an ordinary E26 lamp socket, draws 20 watts and gives off warm 3000K light that looks like a normal household bulb. Soltech also publishes a photon output figure for it: 25.95 µmol/s of PPF. If you want more light per bulb for less money, the SYLVANIA Full Cycle 20W PAR38 is our value pick, with a published 30 µmol/s. For a small herb pot or a low-light houseplant close to a lamp, the Feit Electric 9W A19 grow bulb is our budget pick. Feit publishes a PAR/PPF value of 14.2 for that 9-watt bulb. We built this list from published research, then checked each pick’s specs against its maker’s product page, matched each Amazon link to the model and searched the CPSC recall database by brand. Ten bulbs made the cut.

Transparency first: This guide contains affiliate links. If we’re enrolled in an affiliate program, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you — it never affects how we research or rank. Read our full affiliate disclosure policy.

Check the Soltech Vita on Amazon →


Grow Light Bulbs at a Glance

Specs in this table come from each manufacturer’s product page unless marked otherwise. Price bands are our classification of a dated US price reading for the linked product, taken from the maker’s store or Amazon; they aren’t live prices. “PPF” is photosynthetic photon flux: the amount of plant-usable light a bulb puts out, normally given in micromoles per second (µmol/s). Feit prints its figures as “PAR/PPF” values, with no unit on its 16W and 30W pages and “mol/s” on its A19 page, so treat those as Feit’s own numbers. In both tables, “Not published”, “Not on maker’s page” and “Not stated” mean the figure isn’t listed on the maker’s product page we read on September 26 or 27, 2026.

Bulb Best For Shape Watts PPF Price Band
Soltech Vita Best Overall for Home Lamps PAR30 20W 25.95 µmol/s $75–150
SYLVANIA Full Cycle 20W Best Value PAR38 Grow Bulb PAR38 20W 30 µmol/s under $25
GE Grow PAR38 Fruits & Flowers Highest Published PPF (µmol/s) PAR38 30W 50 µmol/s Band not confirmed: check the listing
Feit Electric 30W Selectable Spectrum Best Selectable Spectrum PAR38 30W 39 / 41 / 43 by mode (Feit’s PAR/PPF values) Band not confirmed: check the listing
SANSI BR30 24W Best Wide Beam BR30 24W Not published $25–75
SANSI PAR25 15W Best Small Reflector Bulb PAR25 15W 27 µmol/s under $25
Feit Electric 16W PAR38 Grow Best Focused Spot for One Plant PAR38 16W 20.0 (Feit’s PAR/PPF value) under $25
SYLVANIA Full Cycle 15W Best for Standard Table Lamps A21 15W Not on maker’s page under $25
Feit Electric 9W A19 Grow Best Budget A19 9W 14.2 (Feit’s PAR/PPF value; Feit prints “mol/s”) under $25
Feit Electric 9W BR30 Grow Best for Recessed Cans BR30 9W Not published under $25

How We Chose These Grow Light Bulbs

We don’t run a lab. Our method is research plus verification:

  • Manufacturer specs first. Wattage, color temperature, PPF, lumens, beam angle, rated life, dimming and damp or wet location are read from each maker’s own product page: Soltech, LEDVANCE (SYLVANIA), GE Lighting, Feit Electric and SANSI. When a retailer listing gives a figure the maker doesn’t publish, we label it as the retailer’s. When the maker’s product page we read doesn’t list a figure, we say so and don’t estimate one.
  • Matching the link to the bulb. We matched each Amazon link to the maker’s model using the listing’s title and details. Where a listing and the maker disagree, as with the SYLVANIA 15W’s bulb shape, we say so. Three buttons go to the maker’s own product page instead: the GE PAR38 and the Feit 30W selectable model, which had no exact-model Amazon listing we could confirm, and the SANSI PAR25, whose Amazon listing only pointed buyers to SANSI’s own store when we checked.
  • A recall search for every brand. These are electrical products, so on September 26 and 27, 2026 we searched the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission recall database for Soltech, SYLVANIA/LEDVANCE, GE Lighting, Feit Electric and SANSI, and for grow lights as a category. Those searches found no grow-bulb recall from these brands. They did turn up past recalls on other GE Lighting and SYLVANIA/LEDVANCE products, such as tube lamps and recessed kits.
  • What we left out. We didn’t include SANSI’s 36W BR30 grow bulb: on Amazon we found it only bundled with other SANSI bulbs, and we didn’t confirm a single-bulb listing for it. We also left out a GE BR30 grow bulb because its Amazon listing called it “Advanced Red” in the title and “balanced spectrum for seeds and greens” in the description. Those are two different GE products, and we couldn’t tell which one the listing actually sells.

Our full methodology, including the fact that we don’t physically test products, is on the how we evaluate page. If you need a panel or bar fixture instead of a bulb, see our complete grow lights guide.


Bulb or Fixture? What a Screw-In Grow Bulb Can Realistically Do

A grow bulb is a low-effort way to add plant light: no brackets and no new wiring, just a lamp you already own. The trade-off is output. The highest PPF published in µmol/s in this guide is 50, from GE’s 30-watt PAR38. What one bulb can light depends on how far it hangs, how wide its beam is and how much light each plant needs, so there’s no fixed plant count. If you’re lighting a 2×2 ft tent or several shelves, our best LED grow lights guide covers fixtures sold for that. If you’re working with one shelf or one corner of a studio apartment, our small-space grow lights guide pairs bulbs with clip lights and slim strips.


The 10 Best Grow Light Bulbs in 2026

Soltech Vita PAR30 Grow Light Bulb — Best Overall for Home Lamps

Best for: Living rooms and bedrooms where you want the plant light to look like ordinary warm household light.

$75–150

Soltech’s product page lists the Vita at 20 watts, 3000K, 1,500 lumens and a PPF of 25.95 µmol/s. It is dimmable, has an E26 base and a PAR30 shape, and is rated for 30,000 hours. Soltech also lists a color rendering index (CRI) of 98. CRI measures how true colors look under the light. The Vita comes in two beam angles. Soltech recommends the narrow 36° beam for plants farther than 3 ft from the light, as in a recessed can or pendant. The wide 60° beam is for plants closer than 3 ft, as in a table or desk lamp. The Amazon link below goes to the white-housing version.

  • Pros: Published PPF; warm 3000K light that doesn’t turn the room purple; dimmable; very high CRI; choice of two beam angles.
  • Cons: Highest price band among the picks with a confirmed band; Soltech’s page doesn’t state a damp or wet rating; 3000K is a warm color temperature, so pick a cooler bulb if you prefer a whiter light.

Key specs (Soltech): 20W | 3000K | 1,500 lm | PPF 25.95 µmol/s | CRI 98 | Dimmable | E26, PAR30 | Beam 36° or 60° | 30,000 hrs

Why we picked it: Soltech publishes the figures you need to compare it (wattage, color temperature, lumens, PPF, CRI, two beam options and rated life), and in our view its warm light suits a lived-in room.

SYLVANIA Full Cycle 20W PAR38 LED Grow Light Bulb (41268) — Best Value PAR38 Grow Bulb

Best for: A floor lamp, clamp light or pendant over herbs or a small group of medium-light plants when you want more light without paying premium-bulb prices.

under $25

LEDVANCE, which sells SYLVANIA-brand lamps in the US, lists this bulb (SKU 41268) as 20 watts, 30 micromoles/s, 80 CRI, non-dimmable and frosted, with a 15,000-hour lifespan and a three-year satisfaction guarantee. LEDVANCE also gives placement guidance: 6–12 inches above seedlings for up to 18 hours a day, and 18–30 inches in the vegetative and flowering stages for up to 12 hours a day. The product page we read doesn’t publish a Kelvin figure, a spectrum range, a base type or a moisture rating for this bulb.

  • Pros: Published PPF of 30 µmol/s, the highest among the lowest-price-band picks whose makers give PPF in µmol/s (SANSI PAR25: 27); the maker gives distance and hours guidance; three-year guarantee.
  • Cons: Non-dimmable; PAR38 is a large bulb, so check that your lamp has room for it; LEDVANCE’s page doesn’t state color temperature, base type or moisture rating.

Key specs (LEDVANCE): 20W | 30 µmol/s | 80 CRI | Non-dimmable | PAR38, frosted | 15,000 hrs | SKU 41268

Why we picked it: Among the lowest-price-band picks whose makers give PPF in µmol/s, it has the highest published figure, and the maker tells you how far away to hang it.

GE Grow LED PAR38 for Fruits & Flowers, 30W (LED30P38W/GROW/F) — Highest Published PPF (µmol/s)

Best for: Flowering and fruiting plants indoors, such as a dwarf tomato, peppers or a flowering houseplant, from a fixture that can take a large PAR38 bulb.

Band not confirmed: check the listing

GE Lighting’s product page lists this bulb at 30 watts, 2,000 lumens and a PPF of 50 micromoles per second, with an “advanced red” spectrum. GE says it appears white to the human eye. GE lists it as non-dimmable, with a CRI of 70, an E26 medium base and up to 25,000 hours of life, and says it isn’t ideal for gooseneck lamps. The product page advises placing it 24–30 inches from the plant and running it 18 hours a day, depending on the plant and growth stage. GE’s product page doesn’t list a Kelvin figure. We couldn’t confirm an Amazon listing for this exact model, so the button goes to GE’s own product page.

  • Pros: Highest published PPF among the four picks whose makers give it in µmol/s (50 µmol/s); spectrum aimed at the flowering and fruiting stage; white appearance; maker gives distance and hours guidance.
  • Cons: Non-dimmable; its CRI of 70 is the lowest CRI figure published for any pick here; GE says it isn’t ideal for gooseneck lamps; no confirmed Amazon listing.

Key specs (GE Lighting): 30W | 2,000 lm | PPF 50 µmol/s | CRI 70 | Non-dimmable | E26, PAR38 | 25,000 hrs | GE SKU 93101233

Why we picked it: Among the four picks whose makers give PPF in µmol/s, it has the highest published figure (50 µmol/s).

Feit Electric 30W PAR38 Selectable Spectrum LED Grow Light (PAR38ADJGRW/LED/HDRP) — Best Selectable Spectrum

Best for: Growers who start seeds, grow them on and then flower them under the same lamp.

Band not confirmed: check the listing

Feit’s product page describes a switch on this 30-watt PAR38 bulb with three spectrum presets: seeding, vegetative and flowering. There is also a “switch” setting that lets you cycle between spectra by flipping an ordinary wall switch. Feit lists the light intensity as 39, 41 or 43 “PAR/PPF” depending on the mode. Feit’s page gives no unit for those values; µmol/s is the standard unit for PPF. Its spec table lists 2,700 lumens, a 3500K color temperature, CRI 80 and a 40° beam. The bulb is non-dimmable, rated for enclosed fixtures and damp locations, and rated for 15,000 hours. We couldn’t confirm an Amazon listing for this exact model, so the button goes to Feit’s product page.

  • Pros: Three spectrum presets in one bulb; a published PAR/PPF value for each mode; enclosed-fixture and damp-location approved.
  • Cons: Non-dimmable; shortest rated life among the Feit bulbs here (15,000 hours); 40° beam covers a narrow area; no confirmed Amazon listing.

Key specs (Feit Electric): 30W | PAR/PPF 39/41/43 by mode (unit not given) | 2,700 lm | 3500K (spec table) | CRI 80 | 40° beam | Non-dimmable | Enclosed fixture: yes | Damp location | 15,000 hrs

Why we picked it: It’s the only pick here whose maker describes switchable spectrum presets, so you can change the spectrum for each growth stage without swapping bulbs.

SANSI BR30 24W LED Grow Bulb (3000K + 5000K + 660nm + 730nm) — Best Wide Beam

Best for: Lighting several plants at once from one socket.

$25–75

SANSI’s US product page lists this bulb at 24 watts. It mixes 3000K warm-white and 5000K cool-white light with 660 nm red and 730 nm far-red. It has a 120° beam angle, and SANSI rates it IP54. It uses SANSI’s chip-on-ceramic design and has an E26 base. SANSI lists a lifespan of up to 25,000 hours and a five-year warranty. SANSI’s product page doesn’t list a PPF for this bulb. The Amazon listing gives a PPFD of 122.29 µmol/m²/s at 1 ft (the retailer’s figure, not the maker’s). SANSI also sells a 4000K version of this bulb; our link goes to the mixed-spectrum version.

  • Pros: Widest published beam angle among these picks (120°); IP54 rating (SANSI); red and far-red added to a white spectrum; five-year warranty.
  • Cons: No PPF on the maker’s page; at the same distance and similar output, a 120° beam spreads its light over a wider area than a narrow spot bulb does; the maker’s page doesn’t say whether it’s dimmable.

Key specs (SANSI): 24W | 3000K + 5000K + 660 nm + 730 nm | 120° beam | IP54 | E26, BR30 | Up to 25,000 hrs | 5-year warranty

Why we picked it: It has the widest published beam angle among these picks (120°), so it’s the one to consider when a single socket sits over a spread-out group of plants.

SANSI PAR25 15W LED Grow Light Bulb (C21GL-AE26-15W) — Best Small Reflector Bulb

Best for: A desk lamp, clip light or small pendant over one or two plants, when you want a smaller reflector bulb than a PAR30 or PAR38.

under $25

SANSI’s US product page lists this bulb (model C21GL-AE26-15W) at 15 watts on 120V, with a 60° beam and a 4000K “daylight” full spectrum covering 400–780 nm. SANSI publishes a PPF of 27 µmol/s and a PPFD of 152.83 µmol/m²/s at 1 ft, and describes its color rendering index as close to 100. SANSI lists a 25,000-hour lifespan, ETL and CE certification and a five-year warranty. Its usage notes say the bulb is for indoor use only, should not be used in dimmable fixtures or totally enclosed fixtures, and should hang 30–50 cm from the plant surface (about 12–20 inches, our conversion). Amazon has a listing for this exact bulb, but when we checked on September 27, 2026 its only offer sent buyers to SANSI’s own store, so the button goes to SANSI’s product page. SANSI sells it singly and in 2- and 3-packs; the band shown is for one bulb.

  • Pros: Published PPF plus a PPFD at a stated distance; smaller PAR25 reflector shape; the maker gives a hanging distance; five-year warranty.
  • Cons: SANSI says not to use it in dimmable or totally enclosed fixtures; the 60° beam is aimed at a small area; no Amazon offer when we checked.

Key specs (SANSI): 15W | PPF 27 µmol/s | PPFD 152.83 µmol/m²/s at 1 ft | 4000K, 400–780 nm | 60° beam | E26, PAR25 | Not for dimmable fixtures | 25,000 hrs | 5-year warranty

Why we picked it: SANSI publishes both a PPF and a PPFD at a stated distance for it, in a smaller reflector shape than the PAR30 and PAR38 picks.

Feit Electric 16W PAR38 LED Plant Grow Light Bulb (PAR38/GROW/LED/BX) — Best Focused Spot for One Plant

Best for: Aiming light at one specimen plant, such as a fiddle-leaf fig, a citrus or a large pot of herbs, from a clamp or track head.

under $25

Feit’s product page lists this PAR38 bulb at 16 watts, 900 lumens, 3500K and CRI 80, with an intensity of 20.0 “PAR/PPF” (Feit’s page gives no unit; µmol/s is the standard unit for PPF). It has a narrow 40° beam. Feit says it emits light between the 454 nm blue and 630 nm red ranges plants use. It is non-dimmable, approved for enclosed fixtures and rated for wet locations. Rated life is 25,000 hours.

  • Pros: Published PAR/PPF value; tight beam keeps light on the target plant; wet-location rated; enclosed-fixture approved.
  • Cons: Non-dimmable; a 40° beam concentrates light on a small area; PAR38 is a large bulb, so check that your lamp has room for it.

Key specs (Feit Electric): 16W | 900 lm | 3500K | CRI 80 | PAR/PPF 20.0 (unit not given) | 40° beam | Non-dimmable | Enclosed fixture: yes | Wet location | 25,000 hrs

Why we picked it: Its 40° beam suits putting a spotlight on one plant, and it’s the only pick here whose maker lists it for wet locations.

SYLVANIA Full Cycle 15W LED Grow Light Bulb (40023) — Best for Standard Table Lamps

Best for: A regular table or floor lamp with a harp and shade, where you want a standard A-shape bulb rather than a reflector.

under $25

LEDVANCE’s product page lists SKU 40023 as a 15-watt, A21-shape, 80 CRI, non-dimmable, frosted bulb. LEDVANCE describes its spectrum as running from 400 to 730 nm, covering blue, yellow and red light. LEDVANCE says it is damp rated for high humidity and guarantees it for 15,000 hours with a three-year warranty. The product page we read doesn’t list a PPF or a base type. The Amazon listing title gives 25 micromoles/s and calls the shape A19. Treat those as the retailer’s figures; the maker’s page says A21. LEDVANCE also notes the bulb is not for sale in California.

  • Pros: Classic A-shape bulb for lamps with a harp and shade (check the lamp’s clearance); broad 400–730 nm spectrum; damp rated; three-year warranty.
  • Cons: LEDVANCE’s product page doesn’t list a PPF; non-dimmable; not sold to California addresses.

Key specs (LEDVANCE): 15W | A21, frosted | 80 CRI | 400–730 nm | Non-dimmable | Damp rated | 15,000 hrs | 3-year warranty | SKU 40023

Why we picked it: At 15 watts it’s the higher-wattage of the two A-shape bulbs here (the Feit A19 is 9 watts), in the A21 household shape many shaded table lamps take; check your lamp’s socket and the room under the shade.

Feit Electric 9W A19 LED Grow Light Bulb (A19/GROW/LEDG2/BX) — Best Budget

Best for: A small herb pot or a low-light houseplant placed close to a lamp you already have (our suggestion; how much light reaches the plant depends on distance).

under $25

Feit’s product page lists this A19 bulb at 9 watts, 680 lumens, 3300K and CRI 80. Feit publishes a PAR/PPF value of 14.2 for it (Feit’s page prints “mol/s”; µmol/s is the standard unit for PPF). Feit says it gives off more light at 449 nm blue and 630 nm red than a regular white LED does. It is non-dimmable, approved for enclosed fixtures and damp locations, and rated for 25,000 hours. Feit notes that it is not for general-purpose lighting.

  • Pros: 9 watts, tied for the lowest wattage here; published PAR/PPF value; standard A19 shape used in many household lamps; enclosed-fixture approved.
  • Cons: Feit’s 14.2 PAR/PPF value has no clear unit, so it can’t be ranked against the µmol/s figures here. In our editorial view it suits low-light plants or topping up window light, depending on how close it sits and what the plant needs. Non-dimmable.

Key specs (Feit Electric): 9W | 680 lm | 3300K | CRI 80 | PAR/PPF 14.2 (Feit’s page prints “mol/s”; µmol/s is the standard unit for PPF) | Non-dimmable | Enclosed fixture: yes | Damp location | E26, A19 | 25,000 hrs

Why we picked it: In our editorial view it’s an easy way to turn a lamp that takes an A19 bulb into a plant light, and it has a published output figure.

Feit Electric 9W BR30 LED Plant Grow Light Bulb (BR30/GROW/LEDG2/BX) — Best for Recessed Cans

Best for: Recessed ceiling cans or downward-facing pendants over a plant shelf.

under $25

Feit’s product page lists this BR30 reflector bulb at 9 watts, 680 lumens, 3300K and CRI 80, with a 110° beam angle. Feit says it has the same blue-and-red emphasis as its A19 grow bulb (449 nm and 630 nm). It is non-dimmable, approved for enclosed fixtures, rated for damp locations and for 25,000 hours. Feit’s product page doesn’t list a PPF for this model.

  • Pros: Reflector shape suits recessed cans; wide 110° beam; enclosed-fixture approved; low wattage.
  • Cons: No PPF on Feit’s product page; 9 watts is a light-duty bulb; non-dimmable.

Key specs (Feit Electric): 9W | 680 lm | 3300K | CRI 80 | 110° beam | Non-dimmable | Enclosed fixture: yes | Damp location | E26, BR30 | 25,000 hrs

Why we picked it: It’s the lighter-duty of the two BR30 reflector bulbs here (9 watts, against the SANSI BR30’s 24), for a recessed can or downward pendant over plants. Whether it’s enough depends on the can’s height above the plant and how much light the plant needs.


Full Comparison Table

Bulb Color / Spectrum Beam Dimmable Moisture Rated Life Price Band
Soltech Vita 3000K, CRI 98 36° or 60° Yes Not stated 30,000 hrs $75–150
SYLVANIA Full Cycle 20W PAR38 80 CRI; spectrum not stated Not stated No Not stated 15,000 hrs under $25
GE Grow PAR38 Fruits & Flowers Advanced red, CRI 70 Not stated No Not stated 25,000 hrs Band not confirmed
Feit 30W Selectable 3 presets; 3500K listed 40° No Damp 15,000 hrs Band not confirmed
SANSI BR30 24W 3000K + 5000K + 660/730 nm 120° Not stated IP54 Up to 25,000 hrs $25–75
SANSI PAR25 15W 4000K, 400–780 nm 60° No Indoor use only 25,000 hrs under $25
Feit 16W PAR38 3500K, CRI 80 40° No Wet 25,000 hrs under $25
SYLVANIA Full Cycle 15W A21 400–730 nm, 80 CRI Not stated No Damp 15,000 hrs under $25
Feit 9W A19 3300K, CRI 80 Not stated No Damp 25,000 hrs under $25
Feit 9W BR30 3300K, CRI 80 110° No Damp 25,000 hrs under $25

Price bands classify a dated US price reading we recorded for the linked product, from the maker’s store or Amazon. They aren’t live prices; check the listing for current pricing. “Not stated” means the figure isn’t listed on the maker’s product page we read on September 26 or 27, 2026.


Grow Light Bulb Buying Guide

Watts, Lumens or PPF: Which Number Matters?

Watts tell you how much electricity a bulb draws, not how much plant-usable light it makes. Lumens measure brightness as the human eye sees it. PPF (photosynthetic photon flux, normally in µmol/s) tells you how much plant-usable light a bulb puts out; PPFD, where a maker gives it, tells you how much reaches a surface at a stated distance. Among the picks whose makers give PPF in µmol/s, published PPF runs from 25.95 µmol/s (Soltech Vita) to 50 µmol/s (GE 30W PAR38). Feit gives its PAR/PPF values with no unit or, on its A19 page, as “mol/s”; the tables label them as Feit’s values. Where PPF isn’t published, look for a PPFD figure with its measuring distance, like the 152.83 µmol/m²/s at 1 ft SANSI gives for its PAR25. Wattage and beam angle alone can’t tell you how much light reaches the leaves.

Match the Bulb Shape to Your Fixture

A19 and A21 are the classic household bulb shapes, used in many shaded table and floor lamps. BR30 is a wide reflector bulb often used in recessed cans and downward pendants. PAR25, PAR30 and PAR38 are reflector bulbs with a tighter beam, and PAR38 is the largest of them. Whether a bulb fits depends on the lamp’s socket, the bulb’s dimensions and the room under the shade, so check both before you buy. The makers list an E26 medium base for every bulb here except the two SYLVANIA models, whose product pages we read don’t state a base type. Makers also say where their bulbs can go: Feit approves its grow bulbs here for enclosed fixtures, SANSI says not to use its PAR25 in totally enclosed fixtures, and GE says its PAR38 isn’t ideal for gooseneck lamps. Follow the lamp and fixture makers’ ratings and instructions.

How Far Away and How Long?

Follow the maker’s guidance where it exists. LEDVANCE suggests 6–12 inches over seedlings for up to 18 hours a day with its PAR38 grow bulb, and 18–30 inches in the vegetative and flowering stages for up to 12 hours. GE suggests 24–30 inches and 18 hours a day for its 30-watt fruits-and-flowers PAR38. SANSI suggests hanging its PAR25 30–50 cm from the plant surface. Iowa State University Extension’s setup advice for fixtures sold as grow lights is to leave them on for 14 hours a day. For a standard 4-foot plug-in LED shop fixture that isn’t sold as a grow light, it suggests full-spectrum (“daylight”) light providing at least 3,000 lumens, placed 18 inches from the foliage and on for 14 hours a day. A plug-in timer takes care of the schedule.

Warm White or Purple?

Several makers here describe white light rather than the pink-purple glow of older red-and-blue grow lamps. GE says its PAR38 appears white to the eye. Soltech lists 3000K, Feit lists 3300K to 3500K for its grow bulbs, SANSI lists 4000K daylight for its PAR25 and mixes 3000K and 5000K white in its BR30. LEDVANCE’s product pages for the two SYLVANIA grow bulbs here don’t list a color temperature. Makers get plant-useful output in different ways: Feit says it adds blue and red peaks, SANSI adds 660 nm red and 730 nm far-red to its BR30, and GE describes an “advanced red” spectrum for flowering and fruiting. In our editorial view, pick by the plant: a balanced spectrum for leafy growth, and a red-leaning bulb like GE’s, which GE markets for fruits and flowers, for flowering plants.


Frequently Asked Questions

Can a regular LED bulb grow plants?

A regular LED bulb is designed for lighting a room, not for growing plants. Iowa State University Extension does give a setup for a light that isn’t sold as a grow light: a standard 4-foot plug-in LED shop fixture with full-spectrum (“daylight”) light, providing at least 3,000 lumens, placed 18 inches from the foliage and on for 14 hours a day. Grow bulbs are sold for plants, and four of the ten publish PPF in µmol/s, and Feit publishes PAR/PPF values without a clear unit for three more. Feit, for example, says its A19 grow bulb gives off more light at 449 nm blue and 630 nm red than a regular white LED.

How many plants can one grow light bulb support?

There’s no fixed plant count. It depends on how far the bulb hangs, how wide its beam is and how much light each plant needs. Among makers that state PPF in µmol/s, published PPF in this guide runs from 25.95 µmol/s (Soltech Vita) to 50 µmol/s (GE 30W PAR38). Feit publishes PAR/PPF values without a clear unit; they’re labeled as Feit’s values in the tables. As a general rule of optics, for bulbs of similar output hung at the same distance, a narrower beam concentrates light on a smaller area and a wider beam spreads it more thinly over more plants. For a measured figure at a stated distance, SANSI publishes a PPFD of 152.83 µmol/m²/s at 1 ft for its PAR25.

How far should a grow light bulb be from my plant?

Use the maker’s guidance where it exists. LEDVANCE recommends 6–12 inches over seedlings and 18–30 inches in the vegetative and flowering stages for its SYLVANIA Full Cycle PAR38. GE recommends 24–30 inches for its 30-watt PAR38. SANSI suggests 30–50 cm for its PAR25. Soltech suggests the Vita’s wide 60° beam for plants closer than 3 ft and the narrow 36° beam for plants farther away.

How many hours a day should a grow light bulb be on?

Iowa State University Extension’s setup advice for grow-light fixtures is 14 hours a day. Makers give their own schedules for particular stages: LEDVANCE says up to 18 hours for seedlings with its PAR38, and GE suggests 18 hours for its fruits-and-flowers bulb. Use a plug-in timer so the schedule stays consistent.

Do grow light bulbs get hot?

Feit says its 30-watt selectable grow bulb produces considerably less heat than standard incandescent grow lights, and it highlights low heat emission on its grow bulbs to guard against leaf burn. Beyond that, go by each maker’s instructions: Feit approves its grow bulbs here for enclosed fixtures, while SANSI says not to use its PAR25 in totally enclosed fixtures. Follow the lamp and fixture makers’ ratings and instructions.

Can I use a grow light bulb on a dimmer?

Only if the maker says it’s dimmable. Of the ten bulbs here, only the Soltech Vita is listed as dimmable. Feit, SYLVANIA and GE list their grow bulbs here as non-dimmable, SANSI says not to use its PAR25 in dimmable fixtures, and SANSI’s BR30 page doesn’t say either way. Check the dimming guidance on the maker’s page before putting any grow bulb on a dimmer.


The Bottom Line: Which Grow Light Bulb Should You Buy?

For a lamp in a room you actually live in, the Soltech Vita is the one to beat. It has warm, natural-looking light, a published PPF of 25.95 µmol/s and it’s listed as dimmable. If you want more plant light for less, the SYLVANIA Full Cycle 20W PAR38 publishes 30 µmol/s in our lowest price band. If you’re growing flowering or fruiting plants and have a fixture that takes a PAR38, GE’s 30-watt Fruits & Flowers bulb has the highest published PPF among the picks whose makers give it in µmol/s. And for a small herb pot or a low-light houseplant close to a lamp, the Feit Electric 9W A19 is, in our view, a simple way to start.

Growing herbs specifically? Our best grow lights for herbs guide compares bulbs with clip lights and countertop systems. Choosing plants for a dim room? See our best low-light indoor plants guide.

More from Planted Indoors

This post was researched and written by Michael Probert. No physical product testing was conducted. Picks are based on manufacturer specifications, current retail listings and published extension guidance. Our searches of the CPSC recall database (September 26 and 27, 2026) found no grow-bulb recall from the brands here.